DIY TINTED LIP BALM

If you are like me, during the winter season my lips get very dry and sometimes it will start to crack. I end up buying many and many of lip balms which can be quite expensive. I came up with an idea to make them at home. After many researches and re-dos, I think these ingredients suite me best. I would like to share this with you all. Now it might work for me but not for everyone so at least try it and tell me what you think. If you discover something that I didn’t, please share.

Before I share the recipe, let me tell you some facts and beneficial of the lip balm. Shea butter lip balm is most commonly used to help heal and moisturize dry or cracking lips. In addition to preventing dryness, Shea butter lip balm may also be useful in protecting the delicate skin from the sun. Shea butter contains important antioxidants such as vitamins E and A, which help protect the lips from the free radical damage that can make them look prematurely aged or thin.

(Disclaimer: Please make sure you are not allergic to any of these ingredients before using it.)

DSC_0471

DSC_0476

Ingredients

2 tbsp. grated beeswax (Grate it with a dollar store cheese grater. You will never be able to use it for anything else after you grate beeswax on it.)

1/4 oz. organic raw Shea butter

2 tbsp. coconut oil

2 tsp. almond oil

chunk of any color lipstick

10 drops of essential oil

Directions

Melt all the ingredients but the essential oil in a double boiler until completely melted where there are no more beeswax flakes. Do not boil or overheat. Stir with a plastic utensil or a wooden lollipop stick. Remove from heat and add essential oil. Pour it into your lip balm containers. Let it sit at room temperature until hardened. Now package it up and give it as gifts or favors. Thank you for reading!

DSC_0516

DSC_0521

Leave a Reply

