DIAPER CAKE TUTORIAL

Are you hosting a baby shower or attending one any time soon? I have a project that you can create that will not take too much time to put together and yet, will have the mother-to-be greatly appreciated. It seems to me that it is another baby boomer year. So I know with all these babies, there bounds to be baby showers. I know we can go the old fashion way and purchase gifts straight from the gift registry but this is actually a time where I can get creative with the gifts I give out. When there is a chance for me to get creative, I will absolutely do so. There are plenty of websites out there that you can pay for them to create one but why not do it yourself for half the price. I made a diaper cake for my cousin about a year ago and I will include step by step instructions for you to learn how to make your very own diaper cake. Whether it is for a gift or the center piece at a baby shower, I got it here for you.

diaper cake

Supplies you will need:
1. White disposable diapers, in size of your preference, depending on the size of your cake.
2. Wide Ribbons (1 1/2 to 2 inches)
3. Hot glue gun
4. Paper crinkle to match the ribbon
5. Big size letters (baby name)
6. Cardboard tube (Paper Towel Roll)

Optional: Cake accessories/toppers – it can range from a teddy bear or to several smaller objects placed around the cake such as socks, onesies, diaper cream, rattle, bibs, blankets, burp cloths… the possibilities are endless.

Step 1: Making the Layers – I started with the bottom layer first. I placed the diaper overlapping each other. I will continue this patter so that only the smooth edges of the diapers are showing until they are fanned out evenly around. Most people used a rubber band but I did not want to do that because I did not want to indent the diapers. It is all up to you, I think my process took a little bit longer but if you have an awesome husband who can give you a hand, it is definitely possible.
Step 2: When all the layers get to your desired size go ahead and tie the ribbon to secure the diapers and set aside.
Step 3: Once all the layers are completed, I insert the cardboard tube into the bottom layer and then stacked the remaining layers on top by sticking the tube through the middle of each layer. (You can also use a wooden dowel as well)
Step 4: This is when you will add the accessories to the diaper cake. For the diaper cake I made, I stuffed the teddy bear on the top of the cake where the teddy bear is peaking out. After that I stuffed the paper crinkle in each of the layer. Last, I glued the baby’s name on the ribbon to make it more personal.

This is optional but you can wrap the diaper cake with clear wrapping paper if you like. 

diaper cake

I was looking around Pinterest and there are other designs you can make for diaper cakes. It is actually neat how people come up with different creativeness. There you have it! A diaper cake you can make for a friend, sister, or cousin… Is anyone having a baby shower or attending one soon, let me know in the comment section below. Have a Happy Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “DIAPER CAKE TUTORIAL

Leave a Reply

