STYLISH KID’S ROOM

I am so excited to share these photos of our kids’ room with all of you! We recently did a makeover to our kids’ rooms. Chloe and Cohen are growing up way too fast and it was time for us to create a big kid’s room for them. When designing the rooms, I tried to avoid anything that resembles themed décor – like Disney characters, princesses, Star Wars, etc. I wanted to create an age appropriate room that is not overly themed and can easily be transformed into a more grown-up space as the kids get older. Check out our rooms below…

Let’s start with Cohen’s room. It was inspired by Guilana Rancic nautical-themed nursery room for baby Duke. I saw it on her show, “Guiliana & Bill”. It has such a modern look and yet still feels like a kids room. Cohen’s room is kind of small so we worked with what we got. I bought the high-gloss gray bookshelf and baskets from Ikea, the octopus picture came from Allposters.com, and his bed was my daughter’s old bed from Pottery Barn Kids which my husband painted it gray to give it a more masculine look. To complete Cohen’s room, I will be adding a zig-zag rug that I purchased from Dwell Studios.

photo 1

photo 3

photo 6

For Chloe’s room, we painted it white and purple as mentioned before. We spray painted a tree branch that my husband took from his parent house and hung it above her bed. I also added some birds that I cut out to give it a chic look. I bought the decors from Michaels and I handmade the lampshade (for the tutorial click here). My daughter loves her books, so we bought these shelves from Ikea and created her a bookcase.

photo 4

photo 5

ruffled lampshade tutorial 5

I hope that gives you a few ideas on what you can do to decorate a boy and girl room. Which rooms do you like best? Let me know in the comment section below. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

