ALEXANDER MCQUEEN INSPIRED CLUTCH DIY TUTORIAL

First off, before I start my post… I want to mention the tragic events in Boston yesterday. There were three people killed and hundreds injured. I can not start my post without giving my sincere condolences to those affected by the Boston Marathon explosion. My thoughts and prayers are with the victims and their families. ❤

  clutch 5

I have an awesome do-it-yourself project for you today! I know it is that time of the year where there are so many events to attend: such as weddings, graduations, prom, and engagement parties that I felt like this is the perfect opportunity for me to show you how to create the inspired Alexander McQueen Clutch. I have seen many famous celebrities like Emma Stone, Kim Kardashian and Anne Hathaway spotted with the Alexander McQueen Clutch. And only if you saw the prices on these babies… It retails for a heartbreaking $1,000+. The great thing about this DIY is that it cost me under $20 and you can create it however you like.

clutch 6

What you will need:

Hard eyeglass case

A fancy cabinet knob

A power drill

Hot glue gun

Embellishments (like rhinestones, beads, studs, etc.)

Tweezers

Optional: Rings (I used the cabinet knob but you can also use rings too) 

Easy step-by-step guide:

clutch 3

Pick a design you would like to do. Carefully glue on your studs a few at a time. I applied glue in several sections and then carefully using a tweezers to place the studs on.

clutch 2

Repeat for the back and the sides of the eyeglass case, until fully embellished. This literally took me over 3 hours. Make sure to let the glue dry and then clean any mess with some goo gone.

 clutch 7 clutch 1

Then pick your spot to drill. My husband helped me with this part but if you plan to do it yourself, have a friend help you hold the case while you drill. Please be careful! Insert your hardware into the hole you drilled. Simply screw in the hardware. If you prefer to use rings, place three rings side-by-side and glue them down. It’s that easy! You now have an elegant clutch bag that will be center of attention at any party you attend. It is big enough to fit a lipstick, credit cards, mints, and your phone. Enjoy!

clutch 4

Leave a Reply

