CITRUS TUNA TARTARE RECIPE

Hello lovelies!

Sorry I have not posted anything up the last several days. I have been so busy with getting the boutique up and also merging my old blog to my new blog in order for it to be linked from the shop. Yeah, I have a lot going on… But I promise I am now back and will do daily updates. I am not sure if you all got my last post regarding my move to: https://sweetmelangeblog.wordpress.com. So for all of my readers, please follow me on the new one because that will be the only way you will get an email when I post.

Anyways, how was everyone Mother’s day? I had a wonderful day spending it with my family. Here are some pictures from last week. Below is a pictures of my kids and on the right side is a picture of Chloe and my parents. Look how young and cute my parents are. I love them!

DSC_0048 DSC_0094

Today I will be showing you how to make my all time favorite, tuna tartare. The husband and I both love sushi and we could eat it every day if it wasn’t so expensive. Now once in a while I do enjoy making my own sushi at home. Yes, I loved it so much that I learned how to roll up the sushi and make myself a roll. It’s actually not that hard but very time consuming. Now the Tuna Tartare is definitely easier to make then rolling up some sushi. First you want to make sure you buy fresh tuna. You don’t want to buy it frozen because it can actually make you sick if you consumed it raw. I usually purchase mine at either Central Market or Whole Foods. Make sure you get the Yellow Fin Ahi Tuna. So let’s get started!

photo

Ingredients

¼ cup soy sauce

2 tablespoons fresh orange juice (about 1 orange)

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice (about 1 lemon)

½ tablespoon water

½ tablespoon sweet rice wine

Dash of crushed red pepper

¼ teaspoon fresh ginger, peeled and finely grated

¼ teaspoon sesame seeds

4 green onions, thinly sliced

1 shallot, diced

½ pound sushi-grade yellow fin ahí tuna, chopped into ¼ to ½ inch cubes

1 can mandarins 1 avocado, chopped into ¼ to ½ inch cubes

Directions

Add soy sauce, orange juice, lemon juice, water, sweet rice wine, red pepper, ginger, sesame seeds, onions, and shallot in a bowl and whisk until combined. Marinate the tuna in the soy mixture for a couple of minutes. Put a cookie cutter on a serving plate and pack with avocado until it’s about ½ inch high. Slowly pull the cookie cutter up a little bit and pack with tuna pieces about ½ inch high. Slowly pull the cookie cutter up a little bit more and pack with mandarin pieces. Slowly remove cookie cutter. Repeat until all tuna is used. Serve with bagel chips, rice chips, or whatever you please.

Leave a Reply

